NACWA Welcomes Terry Leeds as President, Marks 50th Anniversary with “Virtual” Board, Officer Elections

Jul 16, 2020

(July 16, 2020) – NACWA congratulates Terry Leeds, Director of KC Water, as NACWA’s newly-elected President for 2020-2021. Leeds was elected to the role of President, along with the slate of NACWA’s Officers for 2020-2021, during the Board’s summer meeting on July 15. In his role as President, Terry will play a vital role in helping shape national water policy in a manner that fully takes into account the views and needs of public clean water agencies.

Earlier in the day, NACWA convened its Annual Association Business Meeting via webinar to mark the occasion of NACWA’s 50th Anniversary, elect a slate of nominees to NACWA’s Board of Directors and consider an amendment to the Association’s Bylaws. NACWA extends its thanks and gratitude to John Sullivan, Chief Engineer for the Boston Water and Sewer Commission, for his service over the past year as President.

Business Meeting Highlights Accomplishments and the Outlook for the Year Ahead

During the Annual Business Meeting, NACWA’s outgoing President, John Sullivan, noted the many accomplishments from the past year despite the challenge of a global pandemic. He also stressed that as an association, we must “fight with all tools and technology to at our disposal” to ensure we remain connected and engaged. Sullivan also awarded the President’s Award to Ted Henifin, General Manager for the Hampton Roads Sanitation District, for his years of service on the Board and Awards Committee.

NACWA’s Treasurer, Kishia Power, Chief Operating Officer for DC Water, provided the report of the Treasurer, noting that the Association is in a strong financial position despite the pandemic’s impact on the economy and utility member budgets. NACWA’s CEO, Adam Krantz, concluded the meeting with a look at the year ahead and NACWA’s efforts to keep members engaged even in a time of ‘distancing’.

During the meeting, Association members also elected six new Board members, and elected seven current Board members to new terms. Congratulations to these newly elected Board members. The new Board members are:

Region 3:   
   Jay Bernas
   Chief Financial Officer
   Hampton Roads Sanitation District, VA
   Rudy Chow
   Director of Municipal Utilities and Engineering
   City of Redlands, CA
   Charlotte Katzenmoyer
   Chief Executive Officer
   Capital Region Water, PA
   Susan Pekarek
   General Manager
   Johnson County Wastewater, KS
   Brian Perkovich
   Executive Director
   Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of
   Greater Chicago, IL
   Todd Swingle
   Executive Director
   Toho Water Authority, FL

The final business item was a vote to approve an amendment to the Association’s Bylaws to allow, when necessary, Board terms to be automatically extended beyond the nine year limit so individuals elected as an officer can advance through all four officer positions.

Board Elects Officers for 2020-2021

Following the Annual Business Meeting, the Board of Directors held its Summer Meeting via Zoom. At the start of the meeting, the Board elected the Association’s Officers for 2020-2021, who are listed below. Congratulations to Terry, Kishia, Tom and Enrique! The Board also voted to adopt the fiscal year 2021 budgets for the General Fund and Targeted Action Fund.

                    Terry Leeds
                     KC Water
                     Kansas City, MO
Vice President                
                     Kishia Powell
                     Chief Operating Officer
                     DC Water
                     Washington, DC
                      Tom Sigmund
                      Executive Director
                      NEW Water
                      Green Bay, WI
                      Enrique Zaldivar
                      Director and General Manager
                      City of Los Angeles – LA Sanitation, CA

Back To Top