Clean Water Current

NACWA Welcomes Tom Sigmund as President, Convenes 52nd Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony in Seattle

Aug 3, 2022

NACWA congratulates Tom Sigmund, Executive Director for NEW Water in Green Bay, WI, as he takes the helm of the Association as NACWA’s newly elected President for 2022-2023.

Sigmund was elected to the role of President, along with the slate of NACWA’s Officers for the next year, during the Board of Directors’ summer meeting on July 26. The Board, staff, and entire membership look forward to Tom’s leadership during this pivotal time as we work to respond to challenges facing the sector and leverage opportunities to advance national water policy that creates a more resilient and equitable water future.

NACWA extends its thanks and gratitude to Kishia L. Powell, Chief Operating Officer of DC Water, for her exemplary service over the past year as President.

Also on July 26, NACWA convened its Annual Association Business Meeting as a part of the 2022 Utility Leadership Conference. The membership approved a slate of nominees for the Board of Directors and heard updates on NACWA’s accomplishments over the past year, as well as the Association’s finances.

The 2022 Utility Leadership Conference enjoyed record attendance, as NACWA’s public utility members, affiliates, and others gathered together to celebrate 50 years of progress under the Clean Water Act, discuss the key challenges and opportunities shaping the sector looking forward, and enjoy networking and good company after two years of being remote for the summer conference.

Business Meeting Highlights Accomplishments and the Outlook for the Year Ahead

During the Annual Association Business Meeting, NACWA’s outgoing President, Kishia L. Powell, noted the many accomplishments from the past year, including securing water as a core priority in the historic Bipartisan Infrastructure Law and advancing the Association’s focus on Environmental Justice through establishing a standing committee with dedicated utility leaders.  

NACWA’s Treasurer, OJ McFoy, General Manager for the Buffalo Sewer Authority, provided the report of the Treasurer, explaining that the Association has not been immune to the market downturn impacting balance sheets but that the Association remains nonetheless in a strong financial position.

NACWA’s CEO, Adam Krantz, concluded the meeting with a look at the year ahead.

In addition, during the Board Meeting, the Board of Directors approved two recommended Targeted Action Fund (TAF) projects and the FY 2023 TAF and General Fund budgets.

Finally, the Association members also elected five new Board members, and re-elected five current Board members to new terms. Congratulations to these newly elected Board members:

Region 1:         Laurie Horridge, Executive Director
                        Narragansett Bay Commission, RI

Region 7:         Jonathan Gano, Public Works Director
                        City of Des Moines, IA

At-Large:         Randy Hayman, Commissioner
                        City of Philadelphia Water Department, PA

                        Andrew Lee, General Manager/CEO
                        Seattle Public Utilities, WA

                        Barbara Romero, Director/General Manager
                        City of Los Angeles – LA Sanitation and Environment, CA

Board Elects Officers for 2022-2023

The Board of Directors held its summer meeting immediately following the Annual Association Business Meeting. As its first item of business, the Board elected the Association’s Officers for 2022-2023, who are listed below. Once again, congratulations to Tom, OJ, Diane, and Mickey!

President:          Thomas W. Sigmund
                            Executive Director
                            NEW Water
                            Green Bay, WI

Vice President:  Oluwole A. “OJ” McFoy
                            General Manager
                            Buffalo Sewer Authority
                            Buffalo, NY

Treasurer:          Diane S. Taniguchi-Dennis
                            Chief Executive Officer
                            Clean Water Services
                            Hillsboro, OR

Secretary:         William J. “Mickey” Conway
                            Chief Executive Officer
                            Metro Water Recovery
                            Denver, CO


Back To Top