Press Releases

NACWA Honors Hall of Fame Inductees, Peak Performance and Excellence in Management Award Winners at 2023 Utility Leadership Conference

Jul 13, 2023

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                            

Media Contact:­
Nathan Gardner-Andrews | Chief Advocacy & Policy Officer
(703) 774-6513, ngardner-andrews@nacwa.org

Statement from NACWA CEO Applauds Utility Leaders for Continued Excellence

(Louisville, Kentucky) – Last evening, NACWA’s Hall of Fame inductees and the winners of the 2023 NACWA Peak Performance Awards and the NACWA Excellence in Management Awards were honored at a special ceremony as part of NACWA’s 2023 Utility Leadership Conference in Louisville, Kentucky.  

Established in 2010, the NACWA Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who, through their actions and commitment to the organization, have made a significant positive impact on either the evolution of the Association or its ability to effectively represent the interest of the clean water community on a particular issue.  This year we were proud to induct Patricia Cleveland, the former Executive Manager - Northern Region of Trinity River Authority of Texas and Karen L. Pallansch, the former Chief Executive Officer of Alexandria Renew Enterprises, VA, for their many years of service and dedication to both NACWA and the water sector.

This year NACWA recognizes 517 treatment facilities at 194 of its member Public Agencies for outstanding levels of compliance and performance related to their National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit.  A full list of NACWA’s 2023 Peak Performance Awards can be found here.  The 2023 Peak Performance Awards reflect permit compliance for calendar year 2022. Additionally, the Association celebrated five member Public Agencies with Excellence in Management Recognition. A full list of NACWA’s 2023 Excellence in Management Awards can be found here.

Adam Krantz, Chief Executive Officer of NACWA, applauds this year’s recipients, noting:

Through many obstacles and challenges, NACWA member public utilities have demonstrated unwavering dedication in delivering consistent and dependable clean water services. The remarkable efforts exhibited by the staff and leadership of over 350 utilities forming NACWA’s membership cannot be overstated, particularly their role as front-line environmental first responders. NACWA commends these exemplary utilities for their resilience, innovation, and dedication to ensuring clean water for all.

In recognition of their exceptional contributions, NACWA proudly presents this year's Peak Performance Awards and Excellence in Management Awards to these extraordinary member clean water utilities. Their collective achievements embody the forward-thinking and civic-minded environmental stewardship that defines today's public water sector utilities. This esteemed recognition underscores their commitment to providing outstanding service, and the vital role they play in safeguarding the health and well-being of their respective communities. 

It is also NACWA’s great honor to bestow the Hall of Fame Award to Patricia Cleveland and Karen L. Pallansch - two exceptional individuals who have championed the cause and transformed the way we approach and advocate for clean water. By addressing critical challenges and representing the interests of the clean water community, these inductees have set new benchmarks for excellence and made a lasting difference in the sector. Congratulations to all the deserving recipients!


About the Peak Performance Awards

Platinum Awards
Platinum Awards recognize 100% compliance with Clean Water Act (CWA) National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permits over a consecutive five-year period. Facilities that maintain 100% compliance beyond the initial award are honored with Multi-Platinum Award status.

Gold Awards
Gold Awards are presented to facilities with no permit violations for the entire calendar year.

Silver Awards
Silver Awards are presented to facilities with no more than five violations per calendar year.


About the Excellence in Management Awards

The Excellence in Management Recognition Program was launched in 2003 to acknowledge the significant achievements of NACWA member agencies in the utility management arena. This program honors member agencies that are implementing management practices that address the range of challenges identified in the Ten Attributes of Effectively Managed Water Sector Utilities.



For over 50 years, the National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA) has been the nation’s recognized leader in legislative, regulatory, legal and communications advocacy on the full spectrum of clean water issues. NACWA represents public wastewater and stormwater agencies of all sizes nationwide. Our unique and growing network strengthens the advocacy voice for the public clean water sector and helps advance policies to provide affordable and sustainable clean water for all.  Our vision is 

to advance sustainable and responsible policy initiatives that help to shape a strong and sustainable clean water future. For more information, visit us at www.nacwa.org.

Back To Top