Water Week 2017: Water Sector Unites

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
March 8, 2017

Washington, DC –  The nation’s leading water organizations, representing the full spectrum of water issues, water research fields, utilities and consumers from every part of the country, will join forces in Washington, DC this month for Water Week 2017.  During the week of March 19 - 25, hundreds of water, wastewater and stormwater professionals, thought leaders, stakeholders and grass roots supporters will gather and advocate with one voice for national policies that advance clean, safe, affordable and sustainable water for all Americans.

Among the highlight events for the Week will be the National Water Policy Fly-in (March 21-22), where water organization representatives will meet with members of Congress and federal regulators to discuss crucial water-related public affairs issues, and the Rally for Water (March 22), a grassroots show of unity on the US Capitol grounds.  Key congressional members will attend and speak. 

The goal of Water Week is to strengthen the partnership between the federal government and the water sector, emphasize the importance of investment in water infrastructure and research, continue to inform state and national policymakers about crucial water-related issues—including high-impact economic development and job creation, public health and protection, conservation and sustainability to name a few—and to inspire them to act.

Access to clean, safe, reliable water is a vital need that touches every American, without exception, every day. With a new presidential administration and political environment, new opportunities now exist to advance vital water initiatives, issues and goals. Now more than ever, it is critical to elevate water as a national priority, and to aggressively promote and protect clean water nationally.

Water Week 2017 Press Release

MEDIA CONTACTS
American Water Works Association (AWWA)
Tommy Holmes
202-306-9530
THolmes@awwa.org
https://www.awwa.org/

Association of Metropolitan Water Agencies (AMWA)
Carolyn Peterson
202-331-2820
cpeterson@amwa.net
http://www.amwa.net/

National Association of Clean Water Agencies (NACWA)
Tony Viardo
202-533-1810 (ofc); 202-258-8287 (mbl)
tviardo@nacwa.org
http://www.nacwa.org/

US Water Alliance (USWA)
Abigail Feenstra
412-421-0809
agardner@uswateralliance.org
http://uswateralliance.org/

Water Environment Federation (WEF)
Lori Harrison
703-216-8565
lharrison@wef.org
http://www.wef.org/

Water Environment & Reuse Foundation (WE&RF)
Carrie W. Capuco
571-384-2097
ccapuco@werf.org
https://www.werf.org/

Water Research Foundation (WRF)
Adam Lang
303-347-6259
alang@waterrf.org
http://www.waterrf.org/

WateReuse
Zachary Dorsey
571-445-5503
zdorsey@watereuse.org
https://watereuse.org/

Water & Wastewater Equipment Manufacturers Association (WWEMA)
Robert Pignato
703-444-1777
robert@wwema.org
http://www.wwema.org/