Excellence in Management Award Resources

2018 Application Process Completed

Launched in 2003, the EIM program recognizes the significant achievements of Member Agencies in the utility management arena. The program honors Member Agencies that have adopted or made progress toward successful implementation of management practices that address the range of challenges as identified by the Ten Attributes of Effectively Managed Water Sector Utilities (Attributes). Additional information can be found in the recently updated January 2017 Effective Utility Management Primer.

Recognition is given at Platinum, Gold, and Silver levels.  Note that two Attributes – Product Quality and Financial Viability are required of all applications – and that copies of each applicant’s Strategic Plan, Financial Plan, and any other strategic metrics are to be provided as either attachments or via hyperlink to the nomination.

EIM Application Overview Webinar

Join Paula Dannenfeldt, NACWA's Chief Administrative Officer, as she facilitates an informational webinar on the Program's application process.  She is joined by Jamie Samons, Public Affairs Manager, Narragansett Bay Commission (RI), a 2017 Platinum Excellence in Management Agency honoree.  Jamie was able to give a personal account on filling out the application and compiling the data needed to submit.

Length: 22:34
0:00 / 0:00

How to Apply for the EIM Recognition Program

Any NACWA Public Member Agency in good standing may apply for recognition; however, Platinum honorees from 2015, 2016, and 2017 are not eligible to apply until their three-year recognition period has expired. Gold and Silver honorees may apply every year until they reach Platinum status.  

Application Samples of 2017 Honorees

To be used ONLY for reference purposes.

About the EIM Application Process

Each EIM nomination will be reviewed by members of NACWA’s Awards Committee.  The EIM Recognition Program is non-competitive.  Each application will be evaluated individually and all deemed by the Awards Committee to meet the program’s criteria will receive recognition.  Applications that do not meet the minimum qualifications for the selected recognition category will be considered for other categories, where appropriate.

EIM honorees will be recognized during NACWA’s 2018 Utility Leadership Conference in Boston, MA on July 23–26, 2018.

For additional information on NACWA’s Awards Programs contact Bredy Trombino at 202.533.1820.